These are the 56 faces of the new Parliament

CEB1 1390 Parliamentary Elections 2016, News
CEB1 1390 Parliamentary Elections 2016, News

The composition of the new Parliament, which emerged from yesterday's election contest, is 50% renewed, as 28 of the 56 who have been elected, occupy a parliamentary seat for the first time.

Yesterday's vote highlighted the most multi-party Parliament in the history of the Republic of Cyprus, with the participation of 8 parties.

Moreover, about 20% of the new MPs are women, a total of 11, four more than the outgoing Parliament.

With the renewal of the Parliament, big names were left out, such as Prodromos Prodromou, Maria Kyriakou, Andreas Michailidis, Andreas Themistokleous, Rikos Mappouridis, Sotiris Sampson, Eugenios Hampoulas and Georgios Tasouli, Meilis Giavis M from AKEL, as well as Fytos Konstantinou and Antonis Antoniou from DIKO.

Characteristic of this electoral contest is the loss of percentages by all four major parties, with AKEL recording the maximum contraction of its electoral power, which exceeds 7%.

Who are the 56?
In the early morning hours, the names of the 56 who secure a seat in the new Parliament were finalized.

The 20 seats in Nicosia occupied by:

Averof Neophytou, Stella Kyriakidou, Nikos Tornaritis, Solon Kasinis, Dimitris Dimitriou and Nikos Nouris from DISY.
Andros Kyprianou, Irini Charalambidou, Stefanos Stefanou, Aristos Damianou and George Loukaidis from AKEL.
Nikolas Papadopoulos, Christiana Erotokritou and Marinos Mousiouttas from DIKO.
Kostis Efstathiou from EDEK.
George Lillikas from the Citizens' Alliance.
Dimitris Syllouris from the Solidarity Movement.
George Perdikis and Charalambos Theopemptou from the Ecologists 'Movement-Citizens' Cooperation.
And Christos Christou from ELAM.

The 12 seats in the province Λεμεσού occupy:
DISY: Efthymios Diplaros, Eleni Stavrou and Andreas Kyprianou
AKEL: Andreas Kafkalias, Costas Costa, Adamos Adamou and George Georgiou
DIKO: Panikos Leonidou and Angelos Votsis
EDEK: Marinos Sizopoulos
Citizens' Alliance: Pavlos Mylonas
And Solidarity Movement: Eleni Theocharous

At Famagusta, the 11 seats are occupied by:
DISY: Kyriakos Hatzigiannis, Giorgos Karoullas, Onoufrios Koullas and Giorgos Georgiou
AKEL: Utensils Koutra-Koukouma, Christakis Tzovannis and Nikos Kettiros
DIKO: Zacharias Koulias
Citizens' Alliance: Anna Theologou
Solidarity Movement: Michalis Giorgallas
And ELAM: Linos Papagiannis

The 6 seats in the constituency Larnaca occupy:
DISY: Annita Dimitriou and Zacharias Zachariou
AKEL: George Georgiou and Evanthia Savva
And DIKO: George Prokopiou and Christos Orfanidis

At Paphos, the four seats of the province occupy:
DISY: Costas Konstantinou
AKEL: Andreas Fakontis
DIKO: Charalambos Pittokopitis
And EDEK: Elias Myrianthous

And to Kyrenia, the three seats ensure:
DISY: Marios Mavridis and Mariella Aristeidou
And AKEL: Eleni Mavrou

Percentages and seats
With 100% of the votes counted, all over Cyprus, they receive:
DISY 30,69% - 18 seats
AKEL 25,67% - 16 seats
DIKO 14,49% - 9 seats
EDEK 6,18% - 3 seats
Alliance of Citizens 6,01% - 3 seats
Solidarity Movement 5,24% - 3 seats
Ecologists 'Movement - Citizens' Cooperation 4,81% 2 seats and
COME M 3,71% - 2 seats.

"Winner" is abstention
In the elections, 362.541 or 66,74% voted, out of a total of 543,186 registered voters.

The valid ballots were 351.390, while the invalid ones reached 7.673.

The whites were 3.478.

The abstention amounted to 33,26%.

Source: RIK