DIKO: These are the 15 new members of the Executive Office

The Pan-Cypriot Electoral Congress elected the 15 new members of the Executive Office of the Democratic Party

B555AD9B 6418 4D4E B615 E45F982EC869

The Pan-Cypriot Electoral Congress elected the 15 new members of the Executive Office of the Democratic Party.

The counting process at the selection centers for the positions of the 15 elected members of the E.G. concluded in the early hours of July 10, 2023, and the all-Cypriot results are as follows:

1. Charalambos Pittokopitis 3,700
2. Katerina Christofidou 3,592
3. Christos Rodias 3,468
4. Andreas Georgiadis 2,547
5. Alexis Alexandrou 2,537
6. Cyprus Luke 2,411
7. Marios Panagiotou 2,365
8. Loizos Loizou 2,193
9. Yannis Lazarou 2,111
10. Georgios Papoutsos 2,106
11. Alexia Georgiadou 2,082
12. Marina Siammouti 1,959
13. Savvas Christoforou 1,881
14. Marios Mougis 1,865
15. John Meraklis 1,850

Earlier, the counting process for the vice-presidents and the General Secretary had been completed.

In the positions of the three vice-presidents, the following have been elected/re-elected:

1. Chrysanthos Savvidis 4,938
2. Michalis Damianou 4,607
3. Neophytos Charalambidis 3,606

Giorgos Solomou has been elected as the new General Secretary of the Democratic Party with a percentage of 48,1% which corresponds to 3,359 preference crosses of the valid ballots.

The top leadership of the Democratic Party has been announced by the Chief Election Officer Phytos Constantinou, last night (9.7.2023) in a modest ceremony at the State Exhibition in Nicosia.

They were declared:

The President of the Democratic Party, Mr. Nikolas Papadopoulos, who is re-elected without an opponent

The Deputy President of DIKO, Ms. Christiana Erotokritou, who is re-elected unopposed

The three Vice-Presidents Chrysanthos Savvidis, Michalis Damianou and Neophytos Charalambidis

The new General Secretary, Giorgos Solomou and the General Organizing Secretary, Phytos Konstantinou who was re-elected without an opponent.

In terms of attendance, the rate for all of Cyprus amounted to 35,3%, which corresponds to 7,395 members out of the total of 20.977 registered in the party's Central Register of Members.

By province, the attendance rates are as follows:

  • Nicosia 26,8%
  • Limassol 31,1%
  • Larnaca 28%
  • Famagusta 33,7%
  • Paphos 61,8%