Eurovision: Cyprus in 13th place after a review of the standings

tamta Eurovision 2019, Score Review

Changes occurred in the results of the final Eurovision score, which affect the position of Cyprus.

The change in the score came after the "scandal" with Belarus, which revealed the votes of its committee members in the first semifinal.

Shortly before the start of the Eurovision final, the EBU confirmed that the Belarus jury had been eliminated from the final of the 64th song contest.

The EBU has made a formal statement on the matter.

"The Belarusian jury was expelled after the revelation of its members' votes in the first semifinal, which is against the rules of the Eurovision Song Contest. To comply with the rules of the competition, the EBU worked with its voting partner to obtain a cumulative result that would replace the previous one (calculated based on the results of other countries with similar voting results), which was also approved by Ernst & Young.

The EBU can confirm that, following standard review practices, it was discovered that incorrect aggregation result was used due to human error. This had no impact on the calculation of the scores obtained from the television audience vote for the 41 participating countries and the winner as well as the first four songs of the Competition remain the same. In order to respect both the artists and the EBU members who participated, we want to correct the final results according to the rules. The correct jury scores have now been added to the scoreboard and the revised totals for each country have been published on

The EBU, its voting partner and Ernst & Young deeply regret that this error was not detected earlier and will undertake to review the procedures and controls that have been put in place to prevent a recurrence. of the event ".

After the correction of the points, many countries changed positions in the final ranking! One of them is Cyprus, where it rose from 15th to 13th.

The correct score

1. Netherlands (498 points)
2. Italy (472 points)
3. Russia (370 points)
4. Switzerland (364 points)
5. Sweden (334 points)
6. Norway (331 points)
7. Northern Macedonia (305 points)
8. Azerbaijan (302 points)
9. Australia (284 points)
10. Iceland (232 points)
11. Czech Republic (157 points)
12. Denmark (120 points)
13. Cyprus (109 points)
14. Malta (107 points)
15. Slovenia (105 points)
16. France (105 points)
17. Albania (90 points)
18. Serbia (89 points)
19. San Marino (77 points)
20. Estonia (76 points)
21. Greece (74 points)
22. Spain (54 points)
23. Israel (35 points)
24. Belarus (31 points)
25. Germany (24 points)
26. United Kingdom (11 points)

Source: Sigmalive